DSCL Board Notices

In 1997, the 75th Legislature passed Senate Bill 1674, relating to the creation, administration, powers, duties, operation, and financing of library districts in Texas. This legislation allows the formation of library taxing districts and permits voters to choose to dedicate a portion of their sales tax revenue to support library services. The provisions of the Library Districts Act are found in Title 10, Local Government Code, Chapter 326.

Supporters of Westbank Community Library introduced the original library district legislation in order to provide an ongoing, substantial source of funding for Westbank Community Library. The Library Districts Act was amended in 1999 by House Bill 1618 and amended in 2001 by House Bill 440. Read more about Texas public library districts on the Texas State Library and Archives website.

In the November 2, 1999 Hays County election, the voters of Dripping Springs approved the creation of a library taxing district to be governed by five, unpaid trustees elected by district voters. Board members meet monthly at 8:30 a.m. on the third Wednesday of each month, virtually or at the library, as noted in the agenda posted on the library website and outside the front entrance of the Library. The Board may also meet other times as District business requires them. The Hays County Order declaring the Dripping Springs Community Library District official was signed on November 8, 1999. The Library began collecting one quarter percent of sales tax in June 2000.

The Trustees are elected by popular vote of the residents of the Dripping Springs Community Library District in the November general election. Two Trustees are elected in even years and three in odd years. All election notices are posted on the bulletin board outside the library front door and on the website.

The Dripping Springs Community Library
District Board of Trustees

Candidates must be a resident of the district, registered to vote and must comply with other qualifications for holding public office as outlined in Election Code 141.001.

For the Tuesday, November 8, 2022 election of three Board Trustee positions:

Agendas & Minutes

To request public information (open records) from the Dripping Springs Library, please contact the Library Director, Marcia Atilano at[email protected].